Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Ohio Car Insurance - Car Insurance Requirements for Residents

          Ohio requires every car owner to obtain car insurance coverage. The easiest way to meet the state minimum requirements is through auto liability coverage. The minimum requirement is $12,500 for bodily injury coverage per person. If multiple persons are involved in the accident, the minimum requirement is $25,000. The minimum requirement for the property damage coverage is $7,500. It is recommended that you buy a higher coverage so that you can be fully insured against the cost.

          Most of the states in the United States have a means that will automatically know whether the resident is covered by a car insurance policy. However, Ohio does not have a system that can automatically detect that you need to be covered by a car insurance policy. When you are required to provide proof, you have to produce the insurance policy or the insurance identification card.

          If you don't want to obtain car insurance coverage, you have to show that you are financially capable of meeting the state's minimum requirements. There are many ways to produce the proof that you are financially capable of paying for the car insurance. You can produce a $30,000 bond that is issued by that insurance carrier. Your insurance agent can issue a certificate that proves that you are financially capable. The BMV (Bureau of Motor Vehicle) certificate can be used as a proof that you deposited $30,000 with the state treasurer. The BMV certificate can be signed by two persons as ownership to a real estate that worth $60,000 and above. The BMV self insurance certificate can be used by people who have more than 26 vehicles registered under their name.

          Residents who fail to provide proof of the financial responsibility to the law enforcement officer will receive penalty. If you fail to provide proof, a written notice will be sent to you. The written notice requires you to appear in the traffic court with the proof. You also have to send a copy of the proof of your financial responsibility to the address above. The BMV will select drivers to show proof of financial responsibility randomly by sending a letter to them. The letter contains step by step instructions on how to comply the request.

          If you are unable to come up with proof of insurance, your vehicle registration and driving license will be suspended. First time offenders will be penalized with 90 day driving license suspension. Repeat offenders will receive a driving license suspension penalty of up to 2 years.

Find out requirements for Ohio residents and compare car insurance quotes in Ohio.
For more information about ohio car insurance

Monday, December 27, 2010

Ohio Car Insurance Quote - Instant Online Rates

Here are three quick tips to help you save money on Ohio car insurance : 

          1. Your driving record as you know is very important. The better your record, the lower your premium. If you've had accidents or serious traffic violations, you will pay more than if you have a clean driving record. You may also pay more if you haven't been insured for a number of years. You should never go more than a year without being insured.

          2. The number of miles you drive each year are key. The more miles you drive, the more chance for accidents, as expected. If you drive a lower than average number of miles per year, less than 10,000, you will pay far less, often 15% less. For instance, some companies will give discounts to policyholders who state that they carpool.

          3. So where do you live? Insurance companies look at local trends, such as the number of accidents, car thefts, as well as the cost of medical care and even auto repair. You would be amazed the difference in costs from one major city to another. For example, Baltimore to Detroit has a 15% difference in price on average.

Ohio Car Insurance Quote

          One of the best ways to learn more about Ohio car insurance is to go to an insurance quote website and request free quotes online. Immediately after you complete their short form, you will get a number of low quotes from the major carriers while still online. After you get your quotes, you then compare plans and visit their websites for more detailed information.

          Just click on the following link to get Ohio Car insurance Quotes and more auto insurance information. It's fast, it's free and you're under no obligation. You'll get 5 competitive quotes for car insurance in Ohio. You will be able to view multiple Ohio auto insurance rates online They also offer free online Ohio car insurance rates for many other types of other insurance coverage, like homeowners insurance, life insurance, health insurance and dental insurance.

Ohio Car Insurance Requirements and Regulations Made Easy

          If you have a car in the state of Ohio and you want to drive you must have car insurance (Ohio car insurance) , nowadays is not an option, not just because its required by law, but because you must protect your financial assets. But before you buy insurance, you must know which are the Ohio car insurance requirements.

          Ohio state law requires that all motor vehicle drivers have Bodily Injury Liability coverage and Property Damage coverage. The minimum coverage required for Bodily Injury Liability is $12,5000 per person injured in any accident and $25,000 for all people injured in any one accident.

          For Property Damage the minimum coverage required is $7,500 for injury or destruction of property of other people. Also the property damage liability offers coverage for legal defense costs, in the event someone file a lawsuit against you. In Ohio everyone must have Property Damage Liability coverage to protect themselves from an accident that result in the damage of someone else property.

          In Ohio there is also optional insurance (Ohio car insurance) such as Uninsured Motorist Coverage, Underinsured Motorist Coverage and others. It is not mandatory to have those type of insurance but you should buy what you think would protect your assets better in case of an accident.

The auto insurance coverage required for all drivers in Ohio are:

Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
Property Damage Liability Coverage

Tort Option Coverage

Medical Expense/Burial Coverage

The Minimum coverage for Bodily Injury Liability is:

$15,000 per person
$30,000 per occurrence

          For Property Damage Liability you should consult your insurance representative, so he can tell you which is the minimum coverage.

          For Medical Expenses Coverage the minimum requirement is $5,000

          Uninsured motorist bodily injury offers coverage of $100,000 to $300,000 per person for physical injuries and medical costs that result from collision with an under insured individual.

          Remember that before you buy any type of car insurance coverage in Ohio, you should get quotes from different companies and compare what coverage each one offers you. It is very easy to get quotes online, you just feel a survey with some of you information and you will get an estimate. It is always good to talk to a car insurance representative so you can get a better feel of what you can expect from your coverage.

          If you still have some doubts of how to proceed, follow the link bellow to get some more in depth details of how to choose the right car insurance coverage and also get quotes from Ohio companies.